africanfor.blogg.se

Angry marines power chair
Angry marines power chair








Back then it was used to test half-ton ordnance now it serves to study controlled explosives used by soldiers to blast holes through walls and doors in combat areas-standard practice in modern warfare. The mystery of what that thump does had brought me to a World War II bombing range some 40 miles southeast of Denver. “I’ve been in blast events where we’re actually hundreds or even thousands of feet away, and I still feel that thump.”

angry marines power chair

“You feel the thump,” one team member told me. There was a countdown from five, a low “pow,” and a dull thump in the center of my chest. Outside, shot number 52, trailing a 20-foot length of yellow-and-green-striped detonating cord, was securely taped to the wall of a one-room plywood building with a steel fire door.

angry marines power chair

Inside the protective bunker I waited with the explosives team, fingers wedged firmly in my ears. Burness Britt waits to be medevaced out of Afghanistan following an IED strike in June 2011.










Angry marines power chair